Meet the 8 Buddhist Guardian Deities Who Will Protect You

min read

buddha and karma's author

In Tibetan Buddhism, there are eight Buddhist guardian deities who protect us from harm and help us achieve our goals in life. These deities are known as the Bodhisattvas or Buddhas, and each of them is associated with a particular zodiac sign.

In this article, we will introduce you to each of the eight Bodhisattvas and their powers. You will also learn about their symbolism and how they can help you achieve success in life.


The Eight Buddhist Guardian Deities and Your Zodiac

Using an ancient system combining the Heavenly Stems and Earthy Branches, the Five Elements, and the Twelve-Linked Causal Formula, Tibetan Buddhists have come up with a method to determine people's guardian deity.

Below, let's get to know the eight natal Buddha and the 12 zodiac signs they protect.


Avalokiteshvara Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Rat

Epithet: The Buddha of Compassion

Guardian Chinese Name: Thousand Hands Guānyīn

Avalokiteshvara is the Buddha of compassion. He is associated with the rat zodiac sign and is said to have the power to heal diseases and ward off evil spirits.


Akasagarbha Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Ox and Tiger

Epithet: The Buddha of Boundless Space

Guardian Chinese Name: Xūkōng zàng

Akasagarbha's wisdom is said to be boundless as space itself. Thus, he was named the Buddha of Boundless Space. He is aligned with the zodiac signs Ox and Tiger and is said to have the power to grant wishes and fulfill desires.


Manjushri Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Rabbit 

Epithet: The Buddha of Wisdom

Guardian Chinese Name: Wén shū

Manjushri is the embodiment of the wisdom and knowledge of all the Buddhas. He is associated with the Rabbit zodiac sign and is said to have the power to grant wisdom and understanding.


Samantabhadra Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Dragon and Snake

Epithet: The Lord of Truth

Guardian Chinese Name: Pǔxián

Samantabhadra translates to the Buddha of Universal Worthy. While Manjushri is the embodiment of wisdom, Samantabhadra represents action. He is associated with the Dragon and Snake zodiac signs and is said to have the power of truth and justice.


Mahasthamaprapta Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Horse 

Epithet: The Buddha of Great Strength

Guardian Chinese Name: Shìzhì

Mahasthamaprapta is the Lord of Power. He is associated with the Horse zodiac sign and is said to have the ability to overcome obstacles and attain success.


Acala Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Rooster

Epithet: The Great Protector

Guardian Chinese Name: Bù Dòng

Acala is the Lord of Protection. He is associated with the Rooster zodiac sign and is said to have the power to protect us from harm and danger.


Amitabha Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Dog and Pig

Epithet: The Buddha of Infinite Light

Guardian Chinese Name: Āmítuó Fó

Amitabha is the Buddha of Infinite Light. He is associated with the Dog and Pig zodiac signs and is said to have the power to grant us longevity and good fortune.


Vairocana Bodhisattva

Zodiac Animal: Sheep and Monkey

Epithet: The Great Illuminator

Guardian Chinese Name: Dàrì Rúlái

Vairocana is the embodiment of the Buddhist concept of "emptiness." He is associated with the Sheep and Monkey zodiac signs and is said to have the power to dispel ignorance and enlighten us.


How to Gain the Blessing of Your Natal Guardian Buddha

Each of these Bodhisattvas has its own unique powers, but they all share one common goal: to help us achieve our highest potential in life.

There are many ways to gain the blessing of your natal guardian Buddha:



This can be done by lighting candles, incense, and offering flowers at a shrine or temple dedicated to them. You can also recite prayers and mantras asking for their guidance and protection.


Wearing a bracelet or pendant

This is said to help keep their energy close to you and ward off negative influences. Wear the eight Buddhist guardian deity bracelet on your left hand to receive the Buddha’s blessings.


Placing a statue or painting of your guardian Buddha

This is a way to create a constant connection with their energy. Place it in the living room or the hallway to show respect to the deities.

No matter what method you choose, remember to have faith that your guardian Buddha is there to help you achieve your highest potential in life.


Final Thoughts

The eight Buddhist guardian deities are here to bless us with good luck, health, wealth, success, happiness, and protection.

By worshiping them, wearing their bracelet or pendant, or placing a statue or painting of them in our homes, we can create a strong connection with their energy.

Believe that they will help you and you will receive their wonderful blessings.

Celina Wang

Celina Wang, a seasoned Feng Shui and crystal healing enthusiast, shares a decade of expertise on the Buddha & Karma blog. Inspired by her travels in East Asia and love for nature, she guides readers through the transformative world of Feng Shui and crystals, infusing her writing with insights from her peaceful garden meditations.

Read more about the author

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You've Shown Interest In These Items